ZeraBooks is $79 a month billed annually or $149 monthly, with the general ledger and AI bookkeeping in one plan, plus 1,000 converter pages a month. Booke AI is $129 per business a month on top of QuickBooks Online or Xero. Docyt quotes per property. This dataset lists 13 tools as each vendor published them, with the date we read each page, and says what ZeraBooks doesn't do.
| Tool | What it is | Published price (USD) | Trial | Where transactions come from | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZeraBooks | Double-entry general ledger with AI bookkeeping and a statement converter built in | $79 a month billed annually ($948 a year) or $149 monthly; 1,000 converter pages a month; 3 client companies included, $29 a month or $290 a year per extra client | 7-day trial, card required, nothing charged for 7 days | Statements you upload, each proven against its printed balances; no bank feeds | 2026-11-06 |
| Booke AI | An AI bookkeeper that works inside QuickBooks Online and Xero; says it is not a new ledger | $129 per business a month; accounting firm pricing by request | Not stated | Your existing QuickBooks Online or Xero bank feed | 2026-11-06 |
| Docyt | AI-native ERP with its own multi-entity general ledger; hotels first, also restaurants, retailers and franchises | Not published; quoted per property per month on annual plans, usually within one business day | Not listed | Bank feeds with continuous bank and card reconciliation | 2026-11-06 |
| Digits | AI-native accounting software with an automated ledger; U.S.-based entities only | Essentials $65, Core $100 a month; Pro $250 a month (coming soon) | 30-day free trial | Bank feeds, 12,000+ banks, cards and payroll providers | 2026-10-01 |
| Puzzle | Accounting software and services for startups | Starter $30, Core $72, Complete $120, Scale $360 a month | "Try for free" on every plan | Connects to Stripe, Ramp, Mercury, Brex, Gusto and others | 2026-10-01 |
| Zeni | AI bookkeeping with a dedicated finance team, for startups | Starter from $494, Growth from $719 a month (billed annually) | Demo | Not stated on the pricing page | 2026-10-01 |
| Rillet | AI-native ERP for finance teams | Not published; request a demo | Not stated | Bank integrations listed | 2026-10-01 |
| QuickBooks Online | Intuit's cloud accounting software | Simple Start $38, Essentials $85, Plus $140, Advanced $340 a month (list price) | 30-day free trial, or 50% off for 3 months | Bank feeds | 2026-10-01 |
| Xero | Cloud accounting software | Early $27, Growing $59, Established $97 a month | First 3 months discounted | Bank feeds | 2026-10-01 |
| Dext | Receipt and document capture, with bank statement extraction as an add-on | Business plan $25.21 a month or $302.50 a year (250 documents); Bank Statement Extraction from $13.00 a month or $0.32 a document | 14-day free trial, no card | Documents you upload | 2026-11-05 |
| Hubdoc | Document capture that syncs to Xero and QuickBooks Online; included in Xero plans | $12 a month | 30-day free trial, no card | Documents you upload | 2026-11-05 |
| AutoEntry | Document capture priced in credits; 3 credits per bank statement page | Bronze 50 credits $13 up to Sapphire 2,500 credits $469 a month | 25 free trial credits | Documents you upload | 2026-11-05 |
| Nanonets | AI workflow platform with a bank statement converter page, priced in credits | Starter free with $50 in credits, then $100 a month for 100 credits; Growth quoted | $50 in credits | Documents you upload | 2026-11-05 |
Booke AI and Docyt are compared with ZeraBooks in more depth on Booke AI alternative and Docyt alternative. For QuickBooks Online, see QuickBooks alternative.
The price only compares fairly once you know what else you have to pay for. ZeraBooks is its own general ledger. So is Docyt, and Digits keeps an automated ledger of its own. Booke AI works inside QuickBooks Online or Xero and says it is not a new ledger, so its $129 comes on top of that plan. Dext, Hubdoc, AutoEntry and Nanonets capture documents and hand the data to a ledger or a spreadsheet; none of them keeps the books. Docyt also syncs to QuickBooks Online for customers who want to keep it for statutory reporting.
A fictional bookkeeping practice runs 7 client companies on ZeraBooks. Three are included, so 4 are extra at $29 a month or $290 a year each.
| Billing | Subscription | 4 extra clients | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly | $149 | 4 × $29 = $116 | $265 a month |
| Annual | $948 | 4 × $290 = $1,160 | $2,108 a year |
The check: 149 + 116 = 265, and 948 + 1,160 = 2,108. Booke AI and Docyt don't publish firm prices, so there is no list figure to set beside this. Firms can also ask for a free custom build; see ZeraBooks for accountants. Prefer to hand the work over? ZeraBooks bookkeeping services start at $150 a month (USD), quoted after a free call.
| Does ZeraBooks do this? | Answer |
|---|---|
| Bank feeds | No. ZeraBooks works from the statements you upload and proves each one against its printed opening and closing balances. |
| QuickBooks or Xero sync | No. ZeraBooks is its own general ledger. You move your books over once with a trial balance and aging reports. |
| .qbo or IIF files | No. The QuickBooks-ready download is a CSV with Date, Description and Amount for QuickBooks Online's bank upload. |
| Property management or point-of-sale integrations | No. Hotel and restaurant books are kept from statements, bills and invoices. |
| Bill pay | No. Bills are recorded and matched to the bank payment, not paid from ZeraBooks. |
| Several currencies in one company | No. Each company keeps its books in one currency: US dollars, Canadian dollars or euros. |

Booke AI lists its AI Bookkeeper at $129 per business a month, and it works inside QuickBooks Online or Xero, so that plan is paid on top. Pricing for accounting firms is by request. Checked November 6, 2026.
Docyt doesn't publish prices. Its pricing page says it charges per property per month on annual plans, depending on the size and type of each property and the modules chosen, with a quote usually within one business day. Checked November 6, 2026.
Digits listed Essentials at $65 and Core at $100 a month, with Pro at $250 a month coming soon, and a 30-day free trial. Checked October 1, 2026.
ZeraBooks is $79 a month billed annually ($948 a year) or $149 monthly, with the general ledger and AI bookkeeping, plus 1,000 converter pages a month, after a 7-day trial. Accounting firms get 3 client companies included and pay $29 a month per extra client.
No. ZeraBooks works from the bank and card statements you upload and proves each one against its printed opening and closing balances, so a missing or doubled line shows up before a month closes.
No. ZeraBooks bookkeeping services start at $150 a month in U.S. dollars, separate from the software, with the exact price agreed after a free call.